Home > Death, emotion, experience, life, partners, romance, sex, society, Uncategorized, writing > Females Are Better Than Males

Females Are Better Than Males

I have to admit it. Not that men are nothing, but women bear a greater burden and a greater responsibility in society.

I recall a difficult time in my first marriage. Our second child was a daughter, as was our firstborn. However, this second child had a birth defect, called either Riley/Day or Disautonomia. The child was not responsive to anything, and had difficulty swallowing. Her mother had to give regular blood donations to keep her baby alive, and care for her in every way. Diapers, bottles, crib, bassinet as one needs for a healthy baby. The baby often spent nights in the hospital.

The phone rang at 8 on a Sunday morning. It didn’t wake my wife and daughter, so I got up quietly to answer the call. It was our baby’s pediatrician, calling to tell me that the baby had passed away in the early hours of the morning.

I returned to bed and lay still and silent until my wife awakened. I kept telling myself that the child’s death was best. A disabled child is a burden to itself and its family. This was best. The doctor was a family friend, and as I lay there, I wondered if he had unplugged the baby’s life support equipment so nature could do its thing.

When my wife woke up, drowsily, an hour or so later, I held her and told her that the baby was dead. She wept, she dressed, and she went to start breakfast. Our daughter would be asleep for a while. I showered.

In that whole misadventure, worst thing I had to do was tell my wife that her daughter had died. She had nurtured the baby with all she had, although it was hopeless. She also had the courage to become pregnant again, before it was determined what remote, rare disorder had taken the infant. When we learned that there was a 25% chance that the next child would be similarly afflicted, she stuck with it and we had a healthy son. I had that one traumatic moment. She had endured months of it.

Females are better than males.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

