Home > culture, life, society, Uncategorized, writing > We Were Observers

We Were Observers

At any stage of life, my generation was interested in its surroundings. We hadn’t the distraction of television, Internet, or computers in our pockets. We read posters on light poles, and we watched people walk their dogs. We sat on park benches with friends, talking, sharing observations. A dog chased a squirrel. A bird pecked at the grass. We saw things first hand.

I see people on the street now, oblivious to all but the screens in their hands. I see friends at a café table, each looking down at their phones. We used to talk, and joke, and ridicule whoever was not with us. It was real life.

I love my computer, and the world on my WI-fi, but I never carry a phone. When I’m in the world of cyberspace, that’s where I am. When I’m out for a walk, that’s where I am. I see the trees, I hear the wind and the birds, and the distant trucks.

I hope the next generation of young people is bored with the cyber life. I hope they set aside the ever expanding technology and take refuge in reality. They’ll need both.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

