Living on Chemicals

The pharmaceutical companies encourage us to do things we ought not to do. If you get heartburn from spicy chicken wings, don’t worry. Just gulp Pepto or pop Zantac and indulge your addiction. Eat wings, eat pizza, eat salami… it doesn’t matter, because there’s a ‘medicine’ for that.

You like to jog, but your knees make you suffer. Pop a couple of Naproxen, and off you go. Just ignore the fact that whatever is going bad in your knees, it’s still going bad, but you’ve masked the reality.

My own organs are wearing out. They’ve served me well for 80 years, but the wear and tear begins to show. One’s prostate gland swells, interfering with the flow of urine. A series of pills helps somewhat, until finally, a colonoscopy fixes it, and creates another problem – one can’t quite turn it firmly off for the whole day.

The heart needs help, so there are pills for that. They do a great job on the heart, but the side effect is impotence. Along with that, there is some degree of depression. There’s a pill for that. There are pills for blood, pills for Thyroid, pills to sustain the function of almost every organ in your body.

I question myself, requiring so much maintenance. As Gloria Steinem said (she’s a year older than I am) “Most people my age are dead.”

The truth is, every day I see news of people 10 to 20 years younger than I am, passing away. Maybe I’m on borrowed time. The people I knew in high school are gone. Most of my cousins are gone. One of my brothers is gone. Meanwhile, I’m still having fun. I’ve never taken life, or death, very seriously anyway.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

