Home > culture, life, romance, seduction, sex > Lured Into A Secretive Squad (continued 23)

Lured Into A Secretive Squad (continued 23)

Naomi Cheslow left it to me to choose a wine. It was evening and tension was in the air because of the outburst by Aileen Schachter. There was the presence of a rhinoceros in the room that Naomi and I refused to acknowledge. I wanted to invite her to share my bed but dared not. I just kept reviewing in my mind the ‘Naomi Attributes’ as I had come to think of them: she’s very tall, magnificent body proportions, toned and firm, flowing black hair, a tawny complexion highlighted by shocking blue eyes. High cheekbones, long lashes, full lips, fine, straight nose… that’s just the package. The contents are as impressive – and intimidating – as the package. She has a PhD in biology, has made her own million dollars as a model, an author, a scientist and a television personality.

If you’re a guy and you’re in this position, what do you do? In my case, I forced myself to be analytical about my feelings and motivations when facing this situation. Am I motivated by a desire to ‘score’ and add this fine specimen to my credits? I don’t think so. For one thing, my ‘credits’ are not very impressive. For another thing, I have felt genuine affection and responsibility toward every woman with whom I made love. At that moment, however, I was not certain that I had that genuine affection and sense of responsibility toward Naomi Cheslow.

I didn’t want to appear to be attempting to impress her with the wine choice. I chose a simple Chianti because I’ve always found it leads to a mood of lighthearted humour.

“I hope cheap Chianti is alright,” I said. “If not, I have… “

“Cheap Chianti is perfect,” she said. “It always makes me feel in a lighthearted, humorous mood.” I was freaked out when she said that. I wondered if one of her amazing talents was to read my mind.

“It does that to me, exactly,” I said. “It’s like you read my mind.” This was getting a little weird. No matter what thought I had, she spoke a near match to it seconds later. I put on a Diana Krall CD and we sat silently listening and drinking Chianti. Diana sang: ‘I’ve got you under my skin’ and I wondered if I felt that way about anyone. Not Aileen, I thought. Not Naomi either. It takes time to fit together with another person. I had no time with Naomi.

“What’s on your mind?” she said. I thought a moment before I answered. I didn’t know if I wanted to tell her anything at all or if I wanted to tell her what I was really thinking.

“I love this song, and I was wondering if anyone does actually get someone under their skin,” said I. “What was on your mind?”

“I was wondering why you haven’t made a move on me,” she said. I looked at her.

“I don’t think it would be appropriate. We are attached through a mutual commitment to N3. Your bold actions in the name of N3 have put your life in jeopardy so I’m providing you with temporary sanctuary,” said I.

“Yes,” she said, “that’s what you are. Sanctuary. Thank you.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

