Home > culture, life, religion, secular, seduction > Lured Into A Secretive Squad (continued 4)

Lured Into A Secretive Squad (continued 4)

I didn’t want to do anything to taint the face-to-face meeting with Aileen Schachter. It would look stupid if I was to have flowers and candles on a linen tablecloth. In spite of my actual reason for joining N3, which was to get close the Aileen, I staged the supper as the strategy meeting that she was expecting. My head ached from the effort of coming up with some kind of strategic idea with which to strike back at the Aryan bullies that had beaten Mr. Hahn and raped his daughter.

In the end, I laid out the food on the coffee table between the sofa and the easy chair. We could sit opposite each other, eye-to-eye and try to bounce ideas off of each other. The food was self-serve: cut your own bagel, spread your own cheese. Only the borscht would be heated and served by me. I didn’t put out any beer, wine, or whiskey because I wanted to avoid any suspicions that I had ulterior motives – because I did.

Ms Schachter knocked firmly on my door at exactly the agreed time. I welcomed her, took her coat, and showed her to the living room setting where I gestured her into the easy chair.

“This looks very nice,” she said, looking at the food. She lifted her head and looked around the room. “You have a nice place here.”

“Thank you,” I said and hung her coat in the hall closet. She had a well-worn document case that she carried with her to the chair. She laid the case on the floor against the side of her chair while I sat on the sofa opposite her.

“Do you have any thoughts on how we might avenge the Hahn atrocity,” she said while she sliced a bagel.

“Would you like to have a bowl of borscht first,” I said. “I have boiled potatoes and sour cream to put in it.” She smiled at me with a tolerant expression, like a patient teacher with a misguided student.

“Perhaps later,” Aileen said. “About the Hahns …”

“All I can think of is that we know the identity of one of them, Clark McCracken,” I said, “so we should find the other two through him, somehow.”

“I was thinking the same thing. You knew him didn’t you?” she said.

“Yes, we grew up in the same neighbourhood. We stayed apart though, all through the years. He and his friends and me with my friends just always stayed away from each other. They were tough kids from the working class neighbourhood on the west side of the school. We were from the east side of the school where the families were more entrepreneurial and we had a more luxurious way of life. Not mansions or anything like that, just nice centre hall homes on tree-lined streets with two cars in each driveway.”

“I guess your past knowledge of him can’t help us much, if you’ve always been consciously apart from each other,” said Aileen

“Except that there were things said about him. I can’t be certain they’re true, but you know how things are in high school. Rumours spread through the student body like a flash fire. Maybe we can use blackmail to get some cooperation from him.”

“What do they say he did?” she said.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

